Listen Live


North Carolina electors met to certify the results of the 2020 presidential election on Monday.

President Trump was officially awarded the state’s 15 electoral votes with 2,758,775 votes (50.1%) to President-Elect Joe Biden’s 2,684,292 votes (48.7%). A record turnout in the Tar Heel State with over 5.5 million people casting their ballots, up 6 percent statewide from 2016.

The Charlotte Metro area along with the surrounding counties experienced a large increase in turnout for 2020. Mecklenburg County saw a 5 percent jump with 71.9% of eligible voters making their vote count. A reported gradual rise statewide over the past eight years. The voter turnout in 2020 was 75.26%; which was up from 69% in 2016, and 68% in 2012 respectively.

Barack Obama was the last Democrat to win North Carolina in 2008. The former president narrowly lost the state in his reelection bid in 2012 to Republican candidate Mitt Romney by 97,000 votes. Hillary Clinton lost to Trump in 2016 by 3.6% margin.

Monday is the deadline for all 538 member of the Electoral College to formally cast their ballots for president. They’re expected to confirm President-Elect Biden and Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris as the next leaders of the United States of America — a move likely to end targeted attempts by Trump and others to overturn the results of the election.

Although, Trump and his campaign maintain the fight is “not over.” A recent CBS News/YouGov poll reported 62% of registered voter said the election was over and settled with Biden as the winner.

On January 6, Congress will count the electoral votes from each state.

North Carolina’s 15 electors officially certify Trump’s win  was originally published on